Ever After Author Odessa Gillespie Black Interview by Shelby Witzel


The first installment in the Cursed Series
The first installment in the Cursed Series

I’m here to introduce acclaimed author Odessa Gillespie Black. I’d like to congratulate her on her recent release of Ever After (Cursed Series Book 1). It’s been a long time in the making, and as a teen reader, I’m glad to finally see something fresh and new hit the press. Without further adieu…

Me: Hi, Odessa. I know you’re busy, but I wanted to get in a few quick questions.

Odessa: No problem. I’m always glad to meet new people and discuss the loves of my life. (smiles)

Me: I’m going to jump right in if that’s okay. How did you come up with the idea for Ever After?

Odessa: Honestly, I feel like this is a tired answer, but I woke from a dream with the weirdest notion that I’d had a wonderful book idea. It took all day to remember what I’d actually dreamed and when it hit me, I wondered what I’d had for dinner the night before. They say if you eat pepperoni, you have some weird dreams. I hadn’t had pepperoni, but boy was the dream that I’d had a doozy. Normally, my dreams are real with people I know involved in situations that could really happen. This time it was different. I was a girl in a car driving with a few friends up to a creepy yet beautiful house. Once we were inside we were greeted by all these nice people, but at times they whispered to each other and gave us crazy looks. A really hot guy tries to get us to leave the house, but we are so fascinated with the house’s size we decide to stay the night. Over the length of the evening, we learn through listening to the butler and the maids that they want us gone. We try to figure out why and after a long night of searching dark hall ways, and encountering more and more house servants, we come upon a few of whom are see through. Ghosts. The dream sort of fades from there. I’m sure I probably dreamed an outcome, but I don’t remember it.

dream-girl1

Me: Is this at all like Ever After?

Odessa: In ways, but it was an idea that after being carefully molded, switched up and added to, became something different entirely. It was a weird, unconscious brainstorming session that just happened to be a hit, at least with the local teens.

Me: So you have a bit of a local following?

Odessa: Somewhat. A lot of girls who graduated around the time the first copy of Ever After went to Kensington and was accepted fell in love with the Grace, Cole, and Allie love triangle from hell.

love_triangle_____or_not_by_123taroki123-d63aca2

Me: So it’s got a love triangle base?

Odessa: It’s not your run-of-the-mill love triangle. That’s for sure. There’s a lot of love and a lot of hate working together to make a wonderfully romantic and scary story. At least in my opinion. I wrote something I’d never seen before. It’s sort of a mix of all things I love put together. Horror, romance, comedy, drama and action. There’s a little something in there for every reader.

Me: How do you feel about your characters? I guess writers get attached.

Odessa: I think writers are the only people of whom can be given the diagnosis of split personality disorder. It’s like the voices of the characters just scream to get out of your head and aren’t satisfied until you’ve written their views down on paper, or in my case the screen.

Me: What is your favorite line from the novel?

Odessa: Ooh. There are so many. I guess if I had to choose, it’d be a paragraph as Ava reads her will aloud on video camera to her family and friends. Her final words were, “I’ve oftentimes wondered if everything I’ve ever done in my life was a mistake, but in this final moment, as I leave this world and enter into the next life, I can rest knowing I’ve done at least one thing with precision. I leave all of my worldly possessions other than the aforementioned property to Allison Ainsley Knowles… Live life to the fullest, love like you’ve never loved before, and when you find something worth fighting for, don’t let anything come in your way.”

Me: That was one of my favorites, too. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to do this interview. I can’t wait for book two. Do you know if there are any plans for it?

Odessa: A prequel to the novel called Ever Bound is due out early 2016, and Ever Tempted (Cursed Series Book 2) will release later in the year. Stay up to date on my Facebook Author Page. I’d love as many visitors as possible.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

LIGHT IT UP

ERIC BARNES

Nicole R. Locker

Author of Contemporary Romance │ Book Blogger

Chicks,Rogues and Scandals

We Love, We Live and We Read. . . .

Linda G. Hill

Life in progress

Easy Peasy All-in-One High School

An extension of the Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

Jewels Book Goodies

Paranormal & Fantasy Books

L.F. Oake - Lilian Oake

YA/Children's Author - Goblin Ruler

Winter Bayne

Cover Designer & Author

EBOOK INDIE COVERS

Bestselling Premade Book Covers & Custom Book Cover Designs in all popular genres including Romance, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Thriller, Mystery, Historical Romance, Young Adult, New Adult and more!

Megan Morgan

Paranormal and Contemporary Romance Author

Justbiz242.com

Telling the Bahamian small business story.

Open Thought Vortex

Literary Magazine for Open Hearts and Minds

ayatesthewriter

Writing to change the world.

swo8

Music means something

lifexperimentblog

Sharing my experiences with all life's experiments!

